Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Search the Staffnet siteSearch StaffNet
Search type

School of Medical Sciences

The School of Medical Sciences is led by Professor Tony Heagerty and is made up of the following six divisions:


The School of Medical Sciences SharePoint site provides the School with central storage for a wide range of up to date information and documents. 

Key school contacts

Head of School

Professor Tony Heagerty

tel: ext 51199 / 51198


Head of School Operations

David Pattwell

tel: 0161 306 0225


PS support

Executive Assistant to Head of School and Head of School Operations

Jenny Parr
tel 0161 275 7513

PA to Head of Teaching, Learning and Student Experience

Karen Cotterill
tel 0161 275 7792

School operations

School Operations Manager

Michelle Fox 

Divisional Operations Manager - Division of Cardiovascular Sciences and Division of Developmental Biology and Medicine

Lesley Jordan
tel 0161 275 1193

Divisional Operations Manager - Division of Cancer Sciences

Natalia Rossi
tel 0161 306 0826

Divisional Operations Manager – Division of Dentistry and Division of Diabetes, Endocrinology and Gastroenterology

Diane Simmons
tel 0161 306 1570


Divisional Operations Manager – Division of Medical Education

Kerry Burke

Teaching and Learning

Job title




School Teaching and Learning Manager Hannah Cousins 0161 275 1449
School Student Service, Support and Development Manager Lynsey McVey 0161 275 1463
School Teaching and Learning Officer; Clinical Delivery  Laura Tuckett 0161 275 8104
School Teaching and Learning Officer; Assessment & Progression Caroline Sales  0161 306 0238
School Student Service, Support & Development Officer; Student Support & Wellbeing  Karen Ross  0161 306 2741
Health and Conduct Manager  Julia Hopkinson 0161 275 1458
School Student Service, Support & Development Officer; Information, Advice & Guidance  Jacqueline Pass 0161 275 5547
School Teaching and Learning Officer; Curriculum & Programmes  Jackie Kan  0161 275 1344
School Teaching and Learning Officer; Accreditation  Lisa Carter 0161 275 2053
CBME Manager Helen Appleton 0161 275 1449
Project Implementation and Client Relationships Manager - 1Med Caroline Townley  0161 306 3903

School Board

Chair of the School Board

Professor Ian Burney



Secretary of the School Board

Christine Nutter