Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Menu
Search the Staffnet siteSearch StaffNet
Search type

Social responsibility

Social responsibility is one of the University’s three core goals set out in Our future: The University of Manchester’s vision and strategic plan.

It's at the heart of what we do as a Faculty. We are making a real difference to the social and economic well-being of our communities through our teaching and research, and through public events and activities.

Our Faculty makes a significant contribution to:

  • the training of the future health professional workforce
  • the Manchester Academic Health Science Centre (MAHSC)
  • major research contributions related to health and communities with significant contributions to global health
  • engaging with the public via public events, festivals or community open days.

Faculty Social Responsibility contacts

Vice Dean for Social Responsibility and Engagement

Professor Mahesh Nirmalan

tel: 0161 275 5033

email: m.nirmalan@manchester.ac.uk

Associate Dean for Environmental Sustainability

Dr Maggy Fostier 

tel: 0161 275 1493

email Maggy.Fostier@manchester.ac.uk

Associate Dean for Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI)

Dr Natalie Gardiner  

tel: 0161 275768

email Natalie.Gardiner@manchester.ac.uk

Academic Lead for Community Engagement and Involvement

Stephanie Snow

tel: 0161 275 5857

email: stephanie.snow@manchester.ac.uk

Social Responsibility Organigram

Social Responsibility Directors and Leads Structure Chart

Read more

 

School and divisional contacts

School of Biological Sciences

Director of Social Responsibility for SBS

Suzanne Verstappen
tel 0161 275 5663
email suzanne.verstappen@manchester.ac.uk

Divisional SR leads

Division of Cell Matrix Biology and Regenerative Medicine

Rachel Lennon
tel 0161 275 5498
email rachel.lennon@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Evolution, Infection and Genomics

May Tassabehji
tel 0161 275 1951
email m.tassabehji@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Immunology, Immunity to Infection, and Respiratory Medicine

Joanne Pennock
tel 0161 275 5133
email joanne.l.pennock@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Molecular and Cellular Function

Andreas Prokop
tel 0161 275 1556
email andreas.prokop@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Musculoskeletal and Dermatological Sciences

Abigail Langton
tel 0161 275 7627
email abigail.langton@manchester.ac.uk

Suzan Verstappen
tel 0161 275 5663
email suzanne.verstappen@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Neuroscience

Ellen Poliakoff
tel 0161 275 7333
email ellen.poliakoff@manchester.ac.uk

Emma Gowen
tel 0161 306 4548
email emma.gowen@manchester.ac.uk

School of Medical Sciences

Director of Social Responsibility for SMS

Natalie Gardiner
tel 0161 275 5768
email natalie.gardiner@manchester.ac.uk

Divisional SR leads

Division of Cardiovascular Sciences

Katharine Dibb
tel 0161 275 1195
email Katharine.Dibb@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Dentistry

Senathirajah Ariyaratnam
tel 0161 275 6818
email senathirajah.ariyaratnam@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Developmental Biology and Medicine

Michelle Desforges
tel 0161 701 6962
email michelle.desforges@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Diabetes, Endocrinology and Gastroenterology

Natalie Gardiner
tel 0161 275 5768
email natalie.gardiner@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Medical Education (including CHSTM)

Silke Conen
tel 0161 275 7426 / 0053
email silke.conen@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Molecular and Clinical Cancer Sciences

Suzanne Johnson
tel 0161 306 0814
email suzanne.johnson@manchester.ac.uk

School of Health Sciences

Director of Social Responsibility for SHS

Sally Freeman
tel 0161 275 2366
email sally.freeman@manchester.ac.uk

Divisional SR leads

Division of Psychology, Communication and Human Neuroscience

Alexandra Sturrock
email alexandra.sturrock@manchester.ac.uk

 

Division of Informatics, Imaging and Data Sciences

Lamiece Hassan
email lamiece.hassan@manchester.ac.uk 

Claire Smith
email claire.E.Smith@manchester.ac.uk 

 

Division of Nursing, Midwifery and Social Work

Judith Ormrod
email judith.ormrod@manchester.ac.uk


Division of Pharmacy and Optometry

Andrew Leach
email andrew.leach@manchester.ac.uk


Division of Population Health, Health Services Research and Primary Care

Roger Harrison
email roger.harrison@manchester.ac.uk

Nicola Small
email nicola.small@manchester.ac.uk


Division of Psychology and Mental Health

        Patricia Gooding
        email Patricia.A.Gooding@manchester.ac.uk

Faculty Social Responsibility and Public Engagement Team

Who to contact about engagement and involvement across the Faculty

Read more

Social Responsibility at The University of Manchester

The University's Social Responsibility website

Read more