Search the Staffnet siteSearch StaffNet
Search type

Social responsibility

Social responsibility is one of the University’s three core goals set out in Our future: The University of Manchester’s vision and strategic plan.

It's at the heart of what we do as a Faculty. We are making a real difference to the social and economic well-being of our communities through our teaching and research, and through public events and activities.

Our Faculty makes a significant contribution to:

  • the training of the future health professional workforce
  • the Manchester Academic Health Science Centre (MAHSC)
  • major research contributions related to health and communities with significant contributions to global health
  • engaging with the public via public events, festivals or community open days.

Faculty Social Responsibility contacts

Vice Dean for Social Responsibility and Engagement

Professor Mahesh Nirmalan

tel: 0161 275 5033

email: m.nirmalan@manchester.ac.uk

Associate Dean for Social Responsibility

Hema Radhakrishnan

tel: 0161 306 8763

email hema.radhakrishnan@manchester.ac.uk

Social Responsibility and Public Engagement Manager

Hawys Williams

tel: 0161 275 5186

email: hawys.williams@manchester.ac.uk

Academic Lead for Community Engagement and Involvement

Stephanie Snow

tel: 0161 275 5857

email: stephanie.snow@manchester.ac.uk

 

School and divisional contacts

School of Biological Sciences

Director of Social Responsibility for SBS

Suzanne Verstappen
tel 0161 275 5663
email suzanne.verstappen@manchester.ac.uk

Divisional SR leads

Division of Cell Matrix Biology and Regenerative Medicine

Rachel Lennon
tel 0161 275 5498
email rachel.lennon@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Evolution and Genomic Sciences

May Tassabehji
tel 0161 275 1951
email m.tassabehji@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Infection, Immunity and Respiratory Medicine

Joanne Pennock
tel 0161 275 5133
email joanne.l.pennock@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Molecular and Cellular Function

Andreas Prokop
tel 0161 275 1556
email andreas.prokop@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Musculoskeletal and Dermatological Sciences

Abigail Langton
tel 0161 275 7627
email abigail.langton@manchester.ac.uk

Suzan Verstappen
tel 0161 275 5663
email suzanne.verstappen@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Neuroscience and Experimental Psychology

Ellen Poliakoff
tel 0161 275 7333
email ellen.poliakoff@manchester.ac.uk

Emma Gowen
tel 0161 306 4548
email emma.gowen@manchester.ac.uk

School of Medical Sciences

Director of Social Responsibility for SMS

Natalie Gardiner
tel 0161 275 5768
email natalie.gardiner@manchester.ac.uk

Divisional SR leads

Division of Cardiovascular Sciences

Ahsraf Kitmotto
tel 0161 306 4186
email ashraf.kitmitto@manchester.ac.uk 

Division of Dentistry

Senathirajah Ariyaratnam
tel 0161 275 6818
email senathirajah.ariyaratnam@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Developmental Biology and Medicine

Michelle Desforges
tel 0161 701 6962
email michelle.desforges@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Diabetes, Endocrinology and Gastroenterology

Natalie Gardiner
tel 0161 275 5768
email natalie.gardiner@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Medical Education (including CHSTM)

Stephanie Snow
tel 0161 275 5957
email stephanie.snow@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Molecular and Clinical Cancer Sciences

Suzanne Johnson
tel 0161 306 0814
email suzanne.johnson@manchester.ac.uk

School of Health Sciences

Director of Social Responsibility for SHS

Sally Freeman
tel 0161 275 2366
email sally.freeman@manchester.ac.uk

Divisional SR leads

Division of Informatics, Imaging and Data Sciences

Lamiece Hassan
tel 0161 275 1160
email lamiece.hassan@manchester.ac.uk 

Claire Smith
tel 0161 306 8007
email claire.E.Smith@manchester.ac.uk 

 

Division of Nursing, Midwifery and Social Work

Judith Ormrod
tel 0161 306 7643
email judith.ormrod@manchester.ac.uk


Division of Pharmacy and Optometry

Andrew Leach
email andrew.leach@manchester.ac.uk


Division of Population Health, Health Services Research and Primary Care

Roger Harrison
tel 0161 275 5201
email roger.harrison@manchester.ac.uk


Division of Psychology and Mental Health

Patricia Gooding
tel 0161 275 1971
email
Patricia.A.Gooding@manchester.ac.uk