Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Search the Staffnet siteSearch StaffNet

Senate report – major achievements and awards

18 Mar 2024

Congratulations to our colleagues for the recent major achievements and major funding, reported in the latest Senate report (February 2024) 

Major achievements and awards secured by the University since the last Senate report include:   


  • Professor Philip Withers (School of Natural Sciences) has reached an agreement with DSTL for a potential £42,322,000 of funding for a DSTL Centre of Excellence: The Defence Materials Centre of Excellence (DMEx). £5.6m of this is the University’s operational budget, with a further £36m to be distributed across all Royce partners via a competitive process.   
  • Professors David Topping and Martin Gallagher (School of Natural Sciences) are leading the University’s involvement as a partner in the Future Biodetection Technologies Hub. Alongside the Universities of Hertfordshire (lead institution), Cranfield and Leeds the Hub has received £13.5m from Research England’s Expanding Excellence in England (E3) Fund.    
  • Professors Jo Hart and Lucie-Byrne Davis (School of Medical Sciences) will co-lead work packages in the new Behaviour Research UK (BR-UK) Hub. The Hub is supported by a £10m grant from ESRC and is led by Imperial College London and the University of Edinburgh.    
  • Professor David Leys (School of Natural Sciences) with Shell Research Limited has been awarded over £9m for a joint BBSRC and EPSRC funded Prosperity Partnership on sustainable commodity chemicals through enzyme engineering and design.   
  • Professor Debora Price (School of Social Sciences) has been awarded £7.5m for an ESRC grant ‘UK Data Service 2024-2030’.    
  • Dr Abigail Langton (School of Biological Sciences) with Boots and No 7 Beauty Company has been awarded £2.1m for a BBSRC funded Prosperity Partnership exploring melanin’s impact on skin behaviour.    
  • Dr Kathryn George (School of Engineering) in collaboration with Professors Philip Martin, Clint Sharrad and Dr Laurence Stamford have been awarded £1.3m by the UK Atomic Energy Authority for the development of lithium technologies for fusion.   
  • Dr Saska Petrova (School of Environment, Education and Development) has been awarded £1.7m for an ERC Consolidator Grant ‘Gender and Precarity at the Energy Frontier.’    
  • Dr Kostas Arvanitis (School of Arts, Languages and Cultures) has been awarded £238,306 for an AHRC grant ‘Museums and Spontaneous Memorials’.

Fellowships and Elected Fellows

  • Dr Fred Schurink (School of Arts, Languages and Cultures) has been awarded an AHRC Research, Development and Engagement Fellowship.   
  • Dr Jack Rowbotham (School of Natural Sciences) has been awarded a Royal Society University Research Fellowship.   
  • Professor Tim Abram (School of Engineering) has been elected as Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering.    

Awards, prizes, donations and recognition

  • Dr Jason Allen-Paisant (School of Arts, Languages and Cultures) has won the prestigious T.S. Eliot prize for his poetry collections ‘Self Portrait as Othello’.    
  • Professor Adisa Azapagic MBE (School of Engineering) has been presented with the Institution for Chemical Engineer’s David Medal in recognition of her outstanding contributions in the sector through her work around sustainability and systems.    
  • Professor David Schultz (School of Natural Sciences) has been awarded the Cleveland Abbe Award by the American Meteorological Society for distinguished service to atmospheric and related sciences.    
  • The 2024 Blavatnik Awards for Young Scientists have awarded Professor Anthony Green (School of Natural Sciences) the UK Chemical Sciences Laureate and Professor Rahul Nair (School of Engineering) the UK Physical Sciences and Engineering Laureate.   
  • Dr Mohammad Saleh Zarepour and Dr Remi Jospeh Salisbury (both School of Social Sciences) have each received the prestigious Philip Leverhulme Prize for early career researchers whose work has had international impact.    
  • Dr Jessica Boland (School of Engineering) has been awarded the National Physical Laboratory Jackson Award for Physics, for jointly establishing the NPL SNOM facility at the University to support quantum materials research.   
  • Dr Ben Brown (School of Health Sciences) has received the Royal College of General Practitioners and the Society for Academic Primary Care 2023 Award for Outstanding Early Career Researchers.   
  • Dr Sarah Lovelock (School of Natural Sciences) has been selected as the winner of the Sir John Meurig Thomas Catalysis Medal 2023, which honours early career scientists making an impact in the field of catalysis.   
  • The Dalton Nuclear Institute has been awarded the Royal Academy of Engineering’s 2023 Bhattacharyya Award in recognition of its “stellar” academia-industry collaboration with the nuclear decommissioning sector.     
  • Professor Jason Micklefield’s team (School of Natural Sciences) have been awarded the Royal Society of Chemistry’s 2023 Chemistry Biology Interface Horizon Prize: Rita and John Cornforth Award, in collaboration with GlaxoSmithKline, for successfully discovered new enzymes for sustainable synthesis.