Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Menu
Search the Staffnet siteSearch StaffNet

DSE Health, Safety and Risk Committee

The Directorate Health, Safety and Risk Committee is chaired by Dr Simon Merrywest, the Director of the Directorate for the Student Experience, and consists of:

NameRoleEmail
 TBC Secretary  
Sarah Gumusgoz Health, Safety and Compliance Officer Sarah.gumusgoz@manchester.ac.uk
Vicky Ackerley Head of Residential and Sport Services vicky.ackerley@manchester.ac.uk
Sarah Littlejohn  Head of Campus Life sarah.littlejohn@manchester.ac.uk
Richard Cotton  Head of International Development  richard.cotton@manchester.ac.uk
Craig Best  Head of Student and Academics Services craig.best@manchester.ac.uk
Joanne Read  DSE University Safety Coordinator  joanne.reed@manchester.ac.uk
Paula Arnison  Administration and Operations Manager  paula.arnison@manchester.ac.uk
Jamie Gilmour  UCU  jamie.gilmour@manchester.ac.uk
Ken Drury  Unite  k.drury@manchester.ac.uk
Kevin Gaskill-Clow  Unison  kevin.clow@manchester.ac.uk
Ian Bradley*  Head of Student Data, Analysis and Records  ian.bradley@manchester.ac.uk
Peter Conolly*  Head of Occupational Health  peter.conolly@manchester.ac.uk
* By Invitation   

 

The Committee takes place quarterly and reviews the Directorate Health and Safety Policy, ensures that best practice is highlighted and shared, reviews accident statistics and monitors compliance and risk.

Academic QuarterMonthsDSE H&S Committee Meeting
AQ1 Aug/Sep/Oct November
AQ2 Nov/Dec/Jan February
AQ3 Feb/Mar/Apr May
AQ4 May/Jun/Jul August

The Directorate has a Health, Safety and Risk Plan that we work to throughout the year.

Residential and Sports Services Health and Safety Committee

(local committees - Sport, Fallowfield, City, Victoria)

NameRole
Vicky Ackerley Head of Residential and Sport Services, Chair of Committee
Sarah Gumusgoz Health, Safety and Compliance Officer
Fiona Day Head of Facilities Management
Mandi Clark Head of Accommodation
Brendon Jones Residential Life Manager
Nikki Kyne Office Coordinator and Committee Secretary
Cooper Healy Manager - Manchester Student Homes
Edward Braney Sport Compliance Officer
Keran Dermody Domestic Assistant
Emily Taylor Deputy Head of Facilities Management
Anne Malone Administrative Assistant & Scretarial Support to Head of Office
Dale Pullin Senior Portering Services Coordinator
Paul Burns Accommodation Office Manager
Fatima Gonzalez Rial Senior Domestic Coordinator
Simon Hallett Senior Faculty Estates Officer for the Faculty of Humanities and Professional Services
Georgina Robinson Residences Administration Officer

International Development Health and Safety Committee

NameRole
Tanya Luff Head of International Relations and Co-Chair of the Committee (interim Secretary)
Fiona Brown Head of International Office and Co-Chair of the Committee
Sarah Gumusgoz Health, Safety and Compliance Officer (interim Safety Adviser)
TBC Safety Adviser
Jerry Burgess Marketing and Recruitment Officer
Lisa Stoker International Programmes Officer
Emma Williams International Collaborations Administrator

Campus Life Health and Safety Committee

NameRole
Peter Connolly Head of Occupational Health and Chair of the Committee
Sarah Gumusgoz Health, Safety and Compliance Officer
Audrey Williams Senior Disability Support Officer Administrator
Rachel Hatton Personal Assistant to Head of Campus Life
Nicola Prescott Occupational Health Service Coordinator

Student and Academic Services Health and Safety Committee

NameRole
Ian Bradley Head of Student Data, Analysis and Records and Chair of the Committee
Sarah Gumusgoz Health, Safety and Compliance Officer
Lindsay Gilbert Volunteering and Community Engagement Manager
TBC Student Access, Success and Development Manager
Rita Feeley Scheduling Manager
Tracy Gallimore Student Services Manager
Lisa Maycroft Employability Consultant and Safety Adviser
Holly Seager Information and Guidance Coordinator and Safety Adviser
Maria Whalley Division Office and Finance Coordinator and Safety Adviser