Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Search the University of Manchester siteSearch Menu StaffNet
Search type

Appointment Panel for our next President and Vice-Chancellor

02 Mar 2023

As part of the preparations to select a new President and Vice-Chancellor, the Nominations Committee of the Board of Governors has created an Appointment Panel to oversee and advise on the process of identifying a successor over the year ahead, leading to a final recommendation to the Board

Appointment Panel for our next President and Vice-Chancellor

The Appointment Panel members have been selected in order to ensure a broad and complementary range of skills and experience and are drawn from: the Board; Senate; Students; Teaching and Learning; Senior University Leadership; Equality Diversity & Inclusion; Research; Professional Services; the wider Manchester community; International; and an External Member, traditionally a former Vice-Chancellor.

The Appointment Panel membership consists of:

  • Philippa Hird - Chair of Board (Chair of the Panel)
  • Ann Barnes - Deputy Chair of Board
  • Sam Bronheim - Students' Union Affairs Officer
  • Dr Adam Danquah - National Teaching Fellow
  • Professor Colette Fagan - Vice-President for Research
  • Zeb Farooq - General Assembly member
  • Professor Dan George - Senate Board member
  • Patrick Hackett - Registrar, Secretary and Chief Operating Officer
  • Professor Richard Jones - Vice-President for Regional Innovation and Civic Engagement
  • Professor Sir Alan Langlands - External member
  • Natasha Traynor - Associate Board member

The Deputy Secretary, Mark Rollinson, will act as Secretary to the Panel.