Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Search the University of Manchester siteSearch Menu StaffNet

New name for the Library

09 May 2012

From July, the name 'The University of Manchester Library' will replace 'The John Rylands University Library'.

The University of Manchester Library

The Library’s New Directions Strategy (2009-12) included a review of the Library name and branding, as the current name of ‘John Rylands University Library’ often causes confusion for staff, students and visitors.

From July, the new name will be ‘The University of Manchester Library’ (most likely this will be abbreviated by students to ‘UML’ , ‘UL’ or ‘The Library’!). This will enable The John Rylands Library located on Deansgate to be more easily identified.

The University of Manchester Library comprises ten sites in total:

  • Main Library
  • Joule Library
  • Eddie Davies Library
  • Precinct Library
  • Stopford Library
  • Art and Archaeology Library
  • Kantorowich Library
  • Lenagan Library
  • Braddick Library
  • The John Rylands Library

It is hoped that the name change can be reflected across campus by September 2012.