Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Search the University of Manchester siteSearch Menu StaffNet

Music at the Martin Harris Centre

15 Feb 2012

Quatuor Danel Evening Concert (17 February) *  University of Manchester Symphony Orchestra (18 February)

Friday 17 February 2012 (7.30pm)
Quatuor Danel Evening Concert

  • Weinberg                 Quartet No. 6, Op. 35
  • Shostakovich          Elegy
  • Tchaikovsky            Quartet No. 3 in E flat minor, Op. 30

Weinberg’s colossal six-movement Sixth Quartet was the audience choice at the Quatuor Danel’s ground-breaking complete cycle two years ago. Tchaikovsky’s equally imposing Third is one of his most elegiac and deeply-felt utterances. And Shostakovich’s first piece for string quartet – transcribed from his opera The Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk District - provides the pivot.

Venue: Cosmo Rodewald Concert Hall

Admission Price: £13.50 / £8 / £4

To book:

For more information:


Saturday 18 February 2012 (7.30pm)
University of Manchester Symphony Orchestra

  • Stravinsky                Scherzo a la Russe
  • Butterworth             Two English Idylls – No.1
  • Butterworth             A Shropshire Lad
  • Ravel                         Shéhérazade
  • Jae Hong Lee           Concerto for Orchestra – World Première – Student Commission
  • Stravinsky                The Firebird Suite (1919 Version)

Soloist: Timothy Langston – Tenor
Conductors: Tom Jarvis | Theo Vinden | Jamie Phillips | Mark Heron

The Symphony Orchestra returns with Ravel's infamous Shéhérazade – but with a twist – a rare performance with tenor soloist Timothy Langston. The orchestra also performs works by little-known English composer Butterworth and the world première of Jae Hong Lee’s Concerto for Orchestra. We close with the whirling and nightmarish Infernal Dance from Stravinsky's Firebird, a tour de force of orchestral brilliance!

Venue: The Cosmo Rodewald Concert Hall

Admission Price: £10 / £6 / £4

Book online with:

For more information: