Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Search the University of Manchester siteSearch Menu StaffNet

Making an impact on green issues

20 Jul 2011

Staff and students gathered together on Wednesday 20 July to celebrate progress made towards creating a greener and more sustainable University campus.

Maynard Case

Green Impact awards were given to staff and students who have made a real difference to the sustainability agenda over the past year. The awards were handed out by President and Vice-Chancellor Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell who said: “Over 2,000 staff have been involved in the green agenda over the past year which just shows our commitment to the environment of the University and how we can protect it.”

A special award was given to Professor Maynard Case who has led the University’s sustainability work and will be retiring from the University later this year.

Photos of the winners receiving their awards can be found on the President's Flickr page at:

The Green Impact Award winners were:

Environmental Hero

  • Professor Maynard Case

Most improved

  • Centre for Integrated Genomic Medical Research (CIGMR) – Janine Lamb

Gold awards

  • Faculty of Medical and Human Sciences Administration – Arthur Nicholas

Silver awards

  • Centre for Integrated Genomic Medical Research (CIGMR) – Janine Lamb
  • School of Pharmacy – Harry Woodfin
  • Manchester Medical School – Andy Conway
  • AV Hill Building – Forbes Manson
  • Stopford Building (Faculty of Life Sciences) – Lizzie Hambleton

Bronze awards

  • School of Education  - Peter Leigh
  • Professional Services Unit - Simon Atkinson
  • Whitworth Art Gallery – Dean Whiteside
  • Compliance and Risk and the Office of the General Counsel – Karen Morgan Tallents
  • Humanities Human Resources – Michele Owen
  • Joule Library - David Hirst
  • Michael Smith Building – Vicky Kelly and Geoff Blunt

Working Towards award

  • School of Arts, Histories and Cultures – Betty-Ann Bristow

Student auditors collecting certificates included:

  • Kelly Watson
  • Joao Dyer
  • Jeff Martin
  • Steve Blatch