Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Search the University of Manchester siteSearch Menu StaffNet

Courses available at STDU: 6-17 July

30 Jun 2009

Book now for presentation practice and PDR reviewee briefing

There are places available on the following courses. Places can be booked online at:

P32: Presentation Practice
7 July 2009, 9.30am-1pm
AP6: PDR - A Briefing for All Reviewees
14 July 2009, 9.30am-11.30am
MS40: ILM Level 5 Award
Commencing in October

The Level 5 award is a short focused management qualification aimed at current or aspiring middle managers. Middle managers are defined by ILM as having a broader span of management responsibility than first line managers and team leaders, for example by having a greater control of budgets; overseeing the work of a significant project team or managing two or more operational or service teams.

The course content focuses on understanding the organisation from a middle management and more strategic perspective and, importantly, on reviewing your own management practice. In addition to these topics the group will negotiate the study or one or more level 5 units examining, for example leadership and presenting a financial case. In contrast to 'Managing in the Round', 360 feedback is not a core part of the learning programme, however people will be expected to complete appropriate self-development questionnaires. It is a much shorter course (around eight days in total) than the Professional Certificate in Management Studies (PCMS) and the Advanced Certificate (ACMS) and allows managers who need a focused learning opportunity, that leads to a recognised qualification subject to satisfactory completion of assessments, to undertake a course of study that won't have a long term call on their work or personal time.

The ILM level 5 award is a discrete qualification in its own right but the units can potentially count towards broader qualifications such as the level 5 certificate and diploma, should a manager subsequently wish to pursue them. The level 5 award can also be used as a test bed for people who are considering the longer PCMS/ACMS qualifications but are not sure that they can afford to invest the time in a qualification lasting a year or longer.

For further details on MS40, commencing October 2009, please email: