Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Menu
Search the University of Manchester siteSearch Menu StaffNet
Search type

Blackwell’s bookshop events

08 Nov 2021

Events coming up in November – staff get 50% discount on all events using code XUOMSTAFF

Blackwell’s bookshop has a host of events coming up in November. And remember, our staff get 50% discount on all events using code XUOMSTAFF.

Tuesday, 9 November

The Fell book launch – Sarah Moss in conversation with Naomi Frisby (at Anthony Burgess Foundation)

Acclaimed author Sarah Moss (Ghost Wall, Summerwater) is here for the launch of her latest novel THE FELL - an incredibly tense and darkly funny book set during the November lockdown which asks probing questions about the place the world has become since March 2020 and the place it was before. Book at:

Wednesday, 10 November

The Falling Thread – Adam O’Riordan in conversation with Katie Popperwell.

Adam O’Riordan launches his debut novel The Falling Thread. Set in 1890s Manchester, it follows the drama-filled lives of three siblings in the lead up to the First World War. Book at:

Friday, 12 November

A Book Lover’s Quiz Night!

Gary Wigglesworth (author of the Book Lover’s Quiz Book) is hosting a special Manchester edition of his long running literary quiz. Held upstairs in our Caffè Nero, prizes on the night will include Blackwell’s vouchers, books and games. Plus you can bring your own booze! Book at:

Monday, 15 November

A Test Signal Showcase

Test Signal is a ground-breaking anthology from Dead Ink Books featuring the very best contemporary northern writing. We're delighted to be welcoming seven of the contributors to the shop to read from their work and discuss the anthology and the importance of northern voices with host Helen Mort. Reading on the night will be: Adam Farrer, Jane Claire Bradley, Lara Williams, Laura Bui, Melissa Wan, Robert Williams and Tawseef Khan. Book at:

Wednesday, 17 November

Mrs Pinto Drives to Happiness – Reshma Ruia in conversation with John McAuliffe

Reshma Ruia will be joining us here instore on Wednesday 17th November to celebrate the launch of her debut short story collection Mrs Pinto Drives to Happiness (Dahlia Books). Reshma will be in conversation with The Centre for New Writing's John McAuliffe. Book at:

Tuesday, 23 November

Iphgenia Baal (author of Man Hating Psycho) and Juliet Jacques (author of Variations) in conversation with Honor Gavin.

Iphgenia Baal and Juliet Jacques will be chatting to Honor Gavin about their incredible new short story collections Man Hating Psycho and Variations. Published by Influx Press, both collections explore themes of gender, queerness and politics.

Thursday, 25 November

Swashbucklers – Dan Hanks in conversation with Gemma Amor.

Dan Hanks will be joining us for the launch of his latest novel Swashbucklers – a nostalgic, wintery story perfect for fans of Ghostbusters, Gremlins and Stranger Things.