Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Search the University of Manchester siteSearch Menu StaffNet

Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell takes up position as Chair of the Russell Group

03 Sep 2020

President and Vice-Chancellor, Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell, has begun her term as the Chair of the Russell Group

Nancy Rothwell

Appointed in May, Professor Rothwell is the eighth Vice-Chancellor to chair the Group and the first woman to take on the role.

The Russell Group represents 24 leading UK universities, based across every region and nation of the country. Currently, Russell Group universities are working hard on plans to safely reopen campuses ahead of the new term, in line with official requirements and social distancing guidelines, to ensure students continue to get the best possible teaching and learning experience.

The universities are also playing an important role in the fight against Covid-19, carrying out potentially life-saving research into the virus, as well as giving practical support to NHS staff and local communities.

Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell said: “It is a great honour and privilege to be Chair of this prestigious group of historic institutions.

“At present, we find ourselves in unprecedented times. Not just in the higher education sector, but across all of society and that is why it has never been more important for our universities to work collaboratively. Together we can, and must, play a key role in helping the UK and wider international community respond to the Covid-19 pandemic, subsequent recovery, and other global challenges.”

“With that in mind, I look forward to working with this group of world-class universities and all other relevant organisations to ensure that UK universities remain global leaders in research, education and their many wider contributions to society.”

Watch or listen to Nancy deliver her first message as Chair: