Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Search the University of Manchester siteSearch Menu StaffNet
Search type

Senate elections result

12 Mar 2018

The results of the Senate elections have been announced and academics will take seats from 1 September 2018

Senate election results

Following a ballot of all academic and research staff in each of the three Faculties, the following staff have been elected to Senate, the body responsible for monitoring standards in teaching and promoting research, with effect from 1 September 2018. 

  • Faculty of Science and Engineering – Professor Philippa Browning, School of Physics and Astronomy; Professor Jitesh Gajjar, School of Mathematics; Professor Uli Sattler, School of Computer Science; Dr Gianpaolo Vignali, School of Materials. Each will serve from 1 September 2018 to 31 August 2021.
  • Faculty of Biology, Medicine and Health Dr Sarah Cotterill, School of Health Sciences; Professor John Aplin, School of Medical Sciences; Dr Nicola High, School of Biological Sciences; Dr Ellen Schafheutle, School of Health Sciences.  Each will serve from 1 September 2018 to 31 August 2021. Dr Anna Woollams (School of Biological Sciences) will serve from 1 September 2018 to 31 August 2020, due to a member of Senate in the Faculty leaving the University part way through their term - a place for a two-year term therefore arose.
  • Faculty of Humanities – Ms Zahra Alija, School of Environment, Education and Development; Dr Adam Ozanne, School of Social Sciences; Professor Debra Howcroft, Alliance Manchester Business School; Dr Wiebke Brockhaus Grand, School of Arts, Languages and Cultures; Dr Stephen Mossman, School of Arts, Languages and Cultures.  Each will serve from 1 September 2018 to 31 August 2021.   

Deputy Secretary, Mark Rollinson, said: “Thank you to the staff members who sought nomination and to all those that voted in the ballots.”