Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Search the University of Manchester siteSearch Menu StaffNet
Search type

Fantastic four receive prestigious Fellowships

16 Oct 2017

Each new distinguished Fellow recognised for outstanding and impactful contributions

The University of Manchester

Four Humanities academics have been announced as Fellows of the Academy of Social Sciences.

They are: Professor Claire Alexander, Professor of Sociology, School of Social Sciences (SoSS); Professor Colette Fagan, Vice-President for Research; Professor Rachel Griffith CBE, Professor of Economics, SoSS; Professor Vera Tolz, Sir William Mather Professor of Russian Studies, School of Arts, languages and Cultures (SALC).

The new Fellows are drawn from academics, practitioners and policymakers across the social sciences. They have been recognised after an extensive peer review process for the excellence and impact of their work through the use of social science for public benefit.

Announcing the conferment, Professor Roger Goodman, Chair of the Academy, said: “Each new distinguished Fellow has been recognised for their outstanding and impactful contributions in their respective fields, and will prove invaluable additions to the range of expertise within the Academy.

“This speaks not only to the power and scope of the social sciences to address the big issues of our time, but also to the growing depth and breadth of representation within the Academy as the voice of the social science community as a whole.”