Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Search the University of Manchester siteSearch Menu StaffNet
Search type

Temporary immigration restrictions

31 Jan 2017

On 27 January 2017, President Trump signed an Executive Order suspending immigrant and non-immigrant entry to the USA for people from Libya, Iran, Iraq, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen for a period of 90 days (i.e. until 27 April 2017)

Excluded from the temporary measures are those travelling on diplomatic visas, North Atlantic Treaty Organisation visas, C-2 visas for travel to the United Nations, and G-1, G-2, G-3, and G-4 visas. 

We have confirmed with the US government that British nationals who hold dual nationality with one of the seven countries mentioned above and who are travelling on a British passport to the USA from one of those countries, should expect additional security checks on arrival in the USA. No other restrictions are in place for British passport holders under these temporary measures.

If you’re unsure whether you’re affected by these new measures, you should contact the nearest US Embassy or Consulate for advice.