Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Search the University of Manchester siteSearch Menu StaffNet
Search type

Manchester medical scientists recognised for excellence in research

19 May 2015

Professor Caroline Dive (Cancer Research UK Manchester Institute), Professor Yanick Crow (Institute of Human Development) and Professor Andrew Loudon (Faculty of Life Sciences) have been elected to Fellowship of the Academy of Medical Sciences

They are among 48 researchers from across the UK who have been recognised for their contribution to the advancement of medical science by election to the Fellowship of the Academy of Medical Sciences. Their election brings the number of Fellows to 1169.

Academy Fellows are elected for excellence in medical research, for innovative application of scientific knowledge or for their conspicuous service to healthcare. The expertise of the new Fellows includes addictions, anaesthesia, age-related diseases and animal biology. This year, 17 (35%) of the new Fellows are women, compared to 23.2% of bioscience professors in the UK.

Professor Sir John Tooke PMedSci, President of the Academy of Medical Sciences said, “The Academy of Medical Sciences champions the excellence and diversity of medical science in the UK, and this is clearly demonstrated in this year’s cohort of new Fellows. Their broad range of expertise and fantastic achievements to date shows just how strong the Fellowship is – from the NHS knowledge of Sir Andrew Dillon to the policy experience of Professor Christl Donnelly. Their election is a much deserved honour, and I know they will contribute greatly to the Academy. I am delighted to welcome them all to the Fellowship, and look forward to working with them in the future."