Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Search the University of Manchester siteSearch Menu StaffNet

Senate elections result

24 Feb 2015

Academics take seats from 1 September 2015

The results of the Senate elections have been announced.

The elected academics will take their seats on the body responsible for monitoring standards in teaching and promoting research from 1 September 2015.

They are:

  • Faculty of Life Sciences – following a ballot of all academic and research staff in the Faculty – Dr Mark Ashe and Professor Andrew Doig.
  • Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences – Dr Andrew Horn, School of Chemistry; Dr Caroline Jay, School of Computer Science (re-elected); Professor Mike Sutcliffe, School of Chemical Engineering and Analytical Science; and Dr Gianpaolo Vignali, School of Materials.
  • Faculty of Medical and Human Sciences – Dr Brian Bigger, Institute of Human Development; Dr Jason Hall, Manchester Pharmacy School; and Dr Shaun Speed, School of Nursing, Midwifery and Social Work.
  • Faculty of Humanities – Professor Noel Castree, School of Environment, Education and Development; Dr Mark Batey, Manchester Business School; Dr Jonathan Mair, School of Arts, Languages and Cultures; Dr Jackson Maogoto, School of Law; and Professor Silvia Massini, Manchester Business School.

Each will serve from 1 September 2015 to 31 August 2018.

Deputy Secretary, Martin Conway, said: “Thank you to the staff members that sought nomination and to those that participated in the ballot in the Faculty of Life Sciences.”