Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Search the University of Manchester siteSearch Menu StaffNet

Free Lunchtime Concert Series: Psappha

16 Feb 2015

On Thursday 19 February, 1.10pm at the Martin Harris Centre for Music and Drama


Polish composer Krzysztof Penderecki wrote his two movement String Trio in 1990-91. The first movement includes lively extended cadenzas for each instrument and the second movement is a spirited and energetic fugue. Written in 1927 Anton Webern's String Trio applies the techniques of serialism to instrumental composition with music that is jagged and severe, yet strangely beautiful and lyrical.

The concert also includes a new work by Joshua Brown, an advanced student of composition from The University of Manchester.

Psappha is grateful for the support this project has received from Arts Council England, PRS for Music Foundation, The RVW Trust, The Holst Foundation and The Hinrichsen Foundation.

This concert is free, just turn up there's no need to book.

Further information: