Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Search the University of Manchester siteSearch Menu StaffNet
Search type

Results of the General Assembly elections

01 Aug 2014

Five new members have been elected to University governance body

The University of Manchester

The General Assembly is a governance body, with more than 200 members, on which the University’s principal ‘stakeholders’ are represented, i.e. those who have an interest in its general well-being, whether they be staff or students, or representative of the many and varied external interests upon which the University’s activities impact.

Nominations were recently sought for a number of appointments to the elected category of the General Assembly membership from 1 September 2014. The places were reserved for staff members with paid, superannuable appointments at the University. Three places were available in the “Academic and research” category, four places were available in the 'Other staff' category and two places were available in the 'Academic-related' category.

As there was no requirement for a ballot, Dr Brian Bigger and Dr Mark Reiff, in the 'Academic and research' staff electoral group, were both elected, unopposed, with effect from 1 September 2014 to 31 August 2017.

Similarly, Mr Shumit Mandal, in the 'Other staff' electoral group, was elected, unopposed, with effect from 1 September 2014 to 31 August 2017.

Six valid nominations were received for the two places available from 1 September 2014 to 31 August 2017 in the 'Academic-related' staff electoral group. A ballot of staff in this category of membership ended on 30 July 2014, and Ms Roz Cooper and Dr Arthur Nicholas were declared elected at the close of voting. A total of 589 academic-related staff members participated in the ballot; a turnout of 32%.

The Deputy Secretary, Martin Conway, would like to thank all those that sought election and to the staff that participated in the voting.