Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Search the University of Manchester siteSearch Menu StaffNet

University honours six excellent teachers

14 May 2014

Six members of University staff have been presented with Teaching Excellence Awards, which recognise their achievement in teaching, learning and the student experience.

Winners of Teaching E xcellence Awards 2014

Professor Clive Agnew (Vice-President, Teaching, Learning and Students) hosted the 2014 Teaching Excellence Awards in May 2014.

These competitive awards celebrate significant and sustained commitment to excellence in teaching and learning and are decided by a panel drawn from across the University and chaired by Professor Kersti Börjars (Associate Vice-President, Teaching, Learning and Students).

The winners demonstrated individual excellence, evidence of supporting and developing colleagues, impact and engagement beyond their immediate role and a commitment to their own development in teaching and learning.

The 2014 Winners are (from L to R in group photo):

  • John Pal, Manchester Business School
  • David Schultz, School of Earth, Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences
  • Colin Lumsden, Manchester Medical School
  • Jill Barber, Manchester Pharmacy School
  • Louise Walker, School of Mathematics
  • Jennie Blake, University Libraries

The winners of these awards will now join the University Teaching Excellence Network along with previous winners, our National Teaching Fellows and Distinguished Achievement Medallists to support and influence teaching and learning development in the future.

Further information

For more information on the awards and videos of the winners talking about their work, please visit: