Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Search the University of Manchester siteSearch Menu StaffNet
Search type

International Women’s Day Awards

18 Mar 2014

The achievements of our female staff were recognised at a packed awards ceremony held at Manchester Town Hall on Friday, 7 March, the eve of International Women's Day.

At the Manchester City Council International Women’s Day Award dinner on Friday 7 March, the University had winners in the following categories:

  • Women in Legal and Business – Professor Margot Brazier, School of Law (who was also shortlisted for the Women in STEM category)
  • Women in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics – Centre for Women’s Mental Health
  • Women Protecting Our Environment - Didsbury Dinners (Jenny Gradwell from the School of Mathematics works for this charity)

Ruth Daniel, Manager of In Place of War, was shortlisted in the Women in Culture and Art category.

With 2014 marking the 100th anniversary of the start of the First World War, Manchester's chosen theme for this year's International Women's Day (IWD) was ‘Women as Peacemakers’, in acknowledgement of the role that women have played in conflict resolution.

The awards ceremony recognised outstanding work in a range of categories: from Culture and Art to Legal, Business and Environmental Work. It also awarded accolades in the categories of Outstanding Young Woman and Women’s Champion.

Councillor Suzanne Richards, Manchester City Council's Lead Member for Women's Issues, said: "There has been an outstanding range of women this year who often lead the way quietly, but with skill, tenacity and compassion for the benefit of their community. Their work deserves this celebration and will be a source of inspiration to all Manchester's residents.”

Councillor Sue Murphy, Deputy Leader at Manchester City Council, said: “What really impresses me every year is the amount of support and encouragement that women will give each other. This was shown once again this year in the tremendous appreciation for winners and their work.”