Search the Staffnet siteSearch StaffNet
Search type

Website resources

The School website and associated Centre and Institute websites are maintained by the Faculty Communications and Marketing team.

Mark Woolstencroft, External Relations Manager for SALC, has overall responsibility for the School's external-facing web communications.

You can find information on how to make or request changes to SALC websites below.

Making text changes to existing webpages

Text can be updated by any user of T4, the University's content management system (CMS). 

If you do not have access to the T4 CMS, you should contact the relevant Subject Area Web Officer (see the list at the end of this page), who will have access to T4 to make text changes, or you can submit your request to the Faculty of Humanities Web Team using the IT Support Centre's Humanities Web content change form. Under 'Request type', please ensure you select 'Humanities Website Content Change'.

If you do have access to the T4 content management system (CMS) but cannot remember how to use it, please view our training videos.

All text added to our sites must meet the University's written word guidelines.

Making changes to non-text content

If you want to update images and other non-text items, as well as documents hosted on the website (not including documents hosted on documents.manchester.ac.uk), please use the Humanities Web content change form.

If you are supplying images to be used on the website, please ensure that you hold the copyright for the image, or that it is available under a licence that allows us to use the image on our sites. Please note that we require high-resolution images for use on the website and that they must meet the University's photography guidelines.

Information on adding videos to our sites can be found on the Websites page on the Faculty intranet. Videos must meet the University's film guidelines.

Researcher profiles and staff lists

The Pure support website has a wealth of guides and information on how to set up, make public, and update your academic research profile in Pure. The main guide is:

If you are a new member of academic staff and need to be added to the People page on the website for your subject area, please speak to your Subject Area Web Officer and let them know when you have set up your profile in Pure so they can add a link to it.

Subject Area Web Officers can consult these guidelines on updating People pages:

Requesting/removing pages and other major changes

If you wish to add new pages or substantially rework existing external-facing content, please contact Mark Woolstencroft (mark.woolstencroft@manchester.ac.uk) in the first instance.

To request the removal of a webpage, please contact Rose Brooke, Faculty Digital Content Editor (rose.brooke@manchester.ac.uk).

Course marketing pages

Marketing pages for courses and programmes (which are hosted on the central University website) are usually set up as part of the new course approval process and are updated every year.

Please contact the SALC Marketing Officers, Sarah Howarth (sarah.howarth@manchester.ac.uk) and Ben Lane (ben.lane@manchester.ac.uk), if you have any questions about these pages.

Requesting a new website or blog

If you require a new website for a research project, Centre or Institute, you will need to complete a form and return it to the Faculty Web Team.

See the Websites page on the Faculty intranet for more information.

Adding events

To add an event to the relevant list on our sites, please contact your Subject Area Web Officer (see the Web Contacts section below).

You can also get access to the Columba events system to add events directly; to do that, please contact the Faculty Web Team via this form. Under 'Request type', please ensure you select 'Humanities Website Content Change'.

A user guide for Columba is available:

Adding news articles

To add a news article to the relevant list on our sites, you will need to complete a form and submit it to the Faculty Communications and Marketing team. Please visit the News page on the Faculty intranet for further information.

As of February 2019, we no longer use T4 for news articles and use the PressPage platform instead. See how this affects T4 users if you have previously used T4 to upload news articles.

Requesting access to T4

If you are taking over from an existing Subject Area Web Officer or are a member of School staff who needs access to make minor changes to our sites, you will need to request a T4 login by completing this form as follows:

  • Request type: Site Manager Access
  • T4 training completed: Yes (see below)
  • Date training completed: Today's date
  • Access type required: Contributor
  • Websites/areas you need access to: List the URL(s) of the websites or website sections you need access to edit.
  • Are you the content owner: No (in most cases)

There is no specific face-to-face training session available, but there are comprehensive training videos and written guidance on how to use T4 on the Faculty intranet. It is strongly advised that you review these before you attempt to use T4 for the first time.

Please contact the SALC Digital Content Editor, Rose Brooke (rose.brooke@manchester.ac.uk), with any questions.

Analytics

Data Studio Reports are available for each subject area, Centre and Institute website within SALC. These reports offer an overview of the key web analytics information for each website.

To access the Data Studio Report for your area, please contact the relevant Academic Web Officer (see the 'Web Contacts' section below).

University brand guidelines

Please note that all web content must meet the University's brand guidelines for text, images and video. The brand guidelines website also includes logo files and other downloads.

Social media

The School's main social media channels are overseen by SALC's Marketing & Communications Officer. This post is currently vacant. Please direct any queries regarding social media to Mark Woolstencroft (mark.woolstencroft@manchester.ac.uk).

Web contacts

SALC Academic Web Officers 2018-19

Subject areaNameEmail
SALC

Mark Woolstencroft

mark.woolstencroft@manchester.ac.uk

 

American Studies

Dr Molly Geidel (Sem 1)

Dr J. Michelle Coghlan (Sem 2)

molly.geidel@manchester.ac.uk

j.michelle.coghlan@manchester.ac.uk

Archaeology, Classics and Ancient History  Dr Stuart Campbell stuart.campbell@manchester.ac.uk 
Art History

Dr Kostas Arvanitis

kostas.arvanitis@manchester.ac.uk
Centre for New Writing Honor Gavin honor.gavin@manchester.ac.uk
CIDRAL Tristan Burke tristan.burke@manchester.ac.uk 
Confucius Institute Tabea Heckrodt  tabea.heckrodt@manchester.ac.uk
Drama Dr Johannes Sjoberg johannes.sjoberg@manchester.ac.uk
English Literature Dr Fred Schurink fred.schurink@manchester.ac.uk
History 

Dr Rachel Winchcombe

rachel.winchcombe@manchester.ac.uk

Humanitarian and Conflict Response Institute

Jenny Gradwell

jenny.gradwell@manchester.ac.uk
Institute for Cultural Practices Dr Kostas Arvanitis kostas.arvanitis@manchester.ac.uk
Graduate School Andy Fairhurst

andy.fairhurst@manchester.ac.uk

Language-Based Area Studies 

Dr Ignacio Aguilo 

ignacio.aguilo@manchester.ac.uk

Linguistics and English Language  Dr Maciej Baranowski

maciej.baranowski@manchester.ac.uk

Manchester Histories Festival    
Manchester International Summer School    
Martin Harris Centre

Mark Woolstencroft

mark.woolstencroft@manchester.ac.uk

Modern Languages and Cultures Dr Ignacio Aguilo  ignacio.aguilo@manchester.ac.uk
Music Prof Camden Reeves camden.reeves@manchester.ac.uk
Religions and Theology

TBC

 
The John Rylands Research Institute

 

 
SALC Residence Abroad Team  
residenceabroad@manchester.ac.uk

SALC PSS Web Officers 2018-19

SALC main navigationNameEmailPhone
How to apply

Rose Brooke
Amanda Mathews
Lynn Trillo
Rachel Corbishley
Andy Rigg

rose.brooke@manchester.ac.uk
amanda.mathews@manchester.ac.uk
lynn.trillo@manchester.ac.uk
rachel.m.corbishley@manchester.ac.uk
andy.rigg@manchester.ac.uk 

x61636
x53602
x53268
x53559
x53144
Fees and funding Rose Brooke
Amanda Mathews
Lynn Trillo
Andy Rigg
rose.brooke@manchester.ac.uk
amanda.mathews@manchester.ac.uk
lynn.trillo@manchester.ac.uk
andy.rigg@manchester.ac.uk
x61636
x53602
x53268
x53144
Graduate School Rose Brooke
Amanda Mathews
Rachel Corbishley
Andy Fairhurst
rose.brooke@manchester.ac.uk 
amanda.mathews@manchester.ac.uk
rachel.m.corbishley@manchester.ac.uk
andy.fairhurst@manchester.ac.uk
x61636
x53602
x53559
x67126
School Research Rose Brooke
Jonathan Starbrook
Abigail Saffer
rose.brooke@manchester.ac.uk
jonathan.starbrook@manchester.ac.uk
abigail.saffer-2@manchester.ac.uk
x61636
x53003
x61253 
School People Rose Brooke  rose.brooke@manchester.ac.uk x61636 
About the School Rose Brooke
Mark Woolstencroft

rose.brooke@manchester.ac.uk
mark.woolstencroft@manchester.ac.uk

x61636
x58319

Additional contacts

SALC External Relations Manager & Web Committee Chair Mark Woolstencroft mark.woolstencroft@manchester.ac.uk x58319
Creative Manchester Anne-Marie Nugnes anne-marie.nugnes@manchester.ac.uk x62566
Graduate School Andy Fairhurst andy.fairhurst@manchester.ac.uk x61726
CIDRAL Tristan Burke tristan.burke@manchester.ac.uk  
Martin Harris Centre

Mark Woolstencroft

mark.woolstencroft@manchester.ac.uk

x58319

University Language Centre

Francesca Smith

Rachael Jordan

francesca.smith@manchester.ac.uk

rachael.jordan@manchester.ac.uk

x63392

x68997

Confucius Institute Tabea Heckrodt tabea.heckrodt@manchester.ac.uk x53178 
HCRI Tom Blackburn thomas.blackburn@manchester.ac.uk x50245
Institute for Cultural Practices (ICP) Dr Kostas Arvanitis kostas.arvanitis@manchester.ac.uk x53018 
The John Rylands Research Institute     x61513
Manchester Histories Festival     x61982
Manchester International Summer School      
Faculty Digital Content Editor Rose Brooke rose.brooke@manchester.ac.uk x61636