Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Menu
Search the Staffnet siteSearch StaffNet
Search type

Contacting HR Services during the partial campus closure

The HR Services team have been contactable by e-mail and MS Teams since moving to working remotely.  MS Teams has given us a great opportunity to communicate face-to-face with our customers in a way that we rarely could on campus, as well as message instantly to resolve minor queries using the Chat function. 

For those staff who prefer to speak via telephone, from Monday, 22 February 2021, we now also have a phone number for each team within HR Services as follows:

  • Reception and general HR queries – 0161 275 4499
  • Recruitment – 0161 275 5973
  • International Staff & Compliance Team – 0161 275 2162
  • Payroll – 0161 306 8185
  • Employment Services Team for Biology Medicine and Health – 0161 275 8116
  • Employment Services Team for Humanities – 0161 275 8785
  • Employment Services Team for Science & Engineering – 0161 275 2126
  • Employment Services Team for Professional Services and Cultural Institutions – 0161 275 7231

These phone lines will available from 9.30 to 4pm, Monday to Friday (10am to 12pm and 2pm to 4pm on Monday to Friday for the International Staff & Compliance Team).  Each line will be staffed by one member of each team working remotely.  If for any reason they cannot resolve your query personally, they will ensure another colleague is in touch swiftly to support you.

All requests for processing – such as forms for casual workers and Teaching Assistants, requests to advertise, new starter paperwork and other post and contract management changes – should continue to be sent to hrservices@manchester.ac.uk.  Fee and expense claims should be sent to feesandexpenses@manchester.ac.uk.

HR Services

HR Services consists of the following teams:

About Recruitment & Resourcing

The Recruitment & Resourcing team support hiring managers and candidates applying for vacancies online.  Advice about recruiting is available here.  All requests to advertise should be sent to hrservices@manchester.ac.uk and you will receive an email informing you which member of the Recruitment Team is handling your case.  If you have any concerns or feedback contact the Recruitment Co-ordinator, Em Hunter (Em.Hunter@manchester.ac.uk), in the first instance. 

The Staff Visas team is also part of Recruitment & Resourcing, supporting hiring managers to sponsor staff as part of their visa applications.  Requests for certificates of sponsorship, and general queries and guidance should be sent to hrservices@manchester.ac.uk and you will receive an email informing you which member of the International Staff and Compliance team is handling your case.  If you have any concerns or feedback contact the International Staff and Compliance Officer, Michèle Owen (michele.owen@manchester.ac.uk), in the first instance.

The Recruitment and Resourcing Manager is Caryn Mellor (caryn.mellor@manchester.ac.uk).
The Apprenticeships Manager is Mike Platt (michael.platt@manchester.ac.uk).

About Employment Services

The Employment Services team is the main point of customer service for all staff, including managers and HR Partners, on all matters relating to HR and Payroll administration. We work in close collaboration with the Recruitment team, supporting managers from the point they have selected a candidate onwards, and from there carry out all transactional activity relating to the employee lifecycle, with support and expertise from our colleagues in HR Operations, Payroll, HR Systems, and International Staff and Compliance Teams.

Since 2019 we have organised ourselves into Faculty-focussed teams, with named Team Leads for each area.  Click on your business area for details of the team who are here to support you.

The Employment Services Manager is Sarah Kakanskas (sarah.kakanskas@manchester.ac.uk).

Faculty of Biology, Medicine and Health

The Employment Services Team for FBMH is led by Maggie Martin (maggie.martin@manchester.ac.uk). 

Maggie is supported by Employment Services Assistants Lisa Barlow-Moore (lisa.barlow-moore@manchester.ac.uk), Lee Malone (lee.malone@manchester.ac.uk), Kate Magleave (kate.magleave@manchester.ac.uk), Sandra Allan (sandra.allan@manchester.ac.uk), Andy Smith (andrew.smith-6@manchester.ac.uk), Gemma Troy (gemma.troy@manchester.ac.uk), Ruth Tobalawi (oluwabunmi.tobalawi@manchester.ac.uk) & Emily McPhillips (emily.mcphillips@manchester.ac.uk).

Faculty of Humanities

The Employment Services Team for FHUM is led by Tanzia Haq (tanzia.haq@manchester.ac.uk). 

Tanzia is supported by Employment Services Assistants Julie Penning (julie.penning@manchester.ac.uk), Sofia Bulman (sofia.bulman@manchester.ac.uk), Katie Hutcheon (katie.hutcheon@manchester.ac.uk) & Amy Wilson (amy.wilson@manchester.ac.uk).

Faculty of Science & Engineering

The Employment Services Team for FSE is led by Rebecca Wolf (rebecca.wolf@manchester.ac.uk). 

Rebecca is supported by Employment Services Assistants Caroline Schofield (caroline.schofield@manchester.ac.uk), Sweet Okpaleke (sweet.okpaleke@manchester.ac.uk), Vicki Cooper (victoria.e.cooper@manchester.ac.uk), Cath Beard (catherine.a.beard@manchester.ac.uk), Kat Dockney (kathryn.dockney@manchester.ac.uk), Ann-Marie Mather (ann-marie.mather@manchester.ac.uk), Emma-Louise Steel (emma-louise.steel@manchester.ac.uk) & Sharon Atkinson (sharon.atkinson@manchester.ac.uk).

Professional Services & Cultural Institutions

The Employment Services Team for PS&CI is led by Joanne Barlow (joanne.barlow@manchester.ac.uk). 

Joanne is supported by Employment Services Assistants Hassan Raza (muhammad.raza@manchester.ac.uk), Jenny Moore (jennifer.moore@manchester.ac.uk), Rachel Peacock (r.w.peacock@manchester.ac.uk), Fatima Norat (fatima.norat@manchester.ac.uk), Karen Labi (karen.labi@manchester.ac.uk) & Rahina Omar (rahina.omar@manchester.ac.uk).

About Payroll

Our in-house Payroll team is primarily here to run the University's payrolls as instructed by Employment Services, and to provide an internal service to HR colleagues as subject matter experts on technical matters (such as Tax and HMRC regulations).

General queries that cannot be answered from the information available on Staffnet, or by reference to a line manager, should be sent to hrservices@manchester.ac.uk.  The escalation point for all HR and Payroll queries in the first instance is to the Employment Services Team Lead responsible for your Faculty/Directorate.

The Payroll Manager is Spencer Clarke (spencer.clarke@manchester.ac.uk).

About HR Systems

The HR Systems team maintain the HR/Payroll System (Resourcelink) and work in partnership with colleagues in IT Services to manage the relationship with our supplier, Zellis, and to plan and implement upgrades and developments such as the MyView Dashboard where staff can view their personal and pay information, and managers can view their teams and approve expense claims. They work closely with colleagues across the University to ensure that downstream systems are fed correctly and appropriately with Resourcelink data. The team also develop tools for reporting to allow HR colleagues to self-serve and are currently migrating reporting from Discoverer to Power BI.

The team have a dedicated e-mail address: hrsystems@manchester.ac.uk 

The HR Systems Manager is Jacqui Bryning (jacqui.bryning@manchester.ac.uk) and the HR Systems Project Manager is Jane McNeill (jane.mcneill@manchester.ac.uk).