Search the Staffnet siteSearch StaffNet
Search type

Social responsibility

Social responsibility is one of the University’s three core goals set out in the Manchester 2020 strategy.

Its at the heart of what we do as a Faculty. We are making a real difference to the social and economic well-being of our communities through our teaching and research, and through public events and activities.

Our Faculty makes a significant contribution to:

  • the training of the future health professional workforce
  • the Manchester Academic Health Science Centre (MAHSC)
  • major research contributions related to health and communities with significant contributions to global health
  • engaging with the public via public events, festivals or community open days.

Faculty Social Responsibility contacts

Vice Dean for Social Responsibility

Professor Mahesh Nirmalan

tel: 0161 275 5033

email: m.nirmalan@manchester.ac.uk

Centre for Engagement and Involvement Manager

Hawys Williams

tel: 0161 275 5186

email: hawys.williams@manchester.ac.uk

Associate Dean for Social Responsibility

Hema Radhakrishnan

tel: 0161 306 8763

email hema.radhakrishnan@manchester.ac.uk

Senior Communications Officer

Natalie Liddle

tel: 0161 306 1380

email: natalie.liddle@manchester.ac.uk

School and divisional contacts

School of Biological Sciences

Director of Social Responsibility for SBS

Suzanne Verstappen
tel 0161 275 5663
email suzanne.verstappen@manchester.ac.uk

Divisional SR leads

Division of Cell Matrix Biology and Regenerative Medicine

Rachel Lennon
tel 0161 275 5498
email rachel.lennon@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Evolution and Genomic Sciences

May Tassabehji
tel 0161 275 1951
email m.tassabehji@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Infection, Immunity and Respiratory Medicine

Joanne Pennock
tel 0161 275 5133
email joanne.l.pennock@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Molecular and Cellular Function

Andreas Prokop
tel 0161 275 1556
email andreas.prokop@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Musculoskeletal and Dermatological Sciences

Abigail Langton
tel 0161 275 7627
email abigail.langton@manchester.ac.uk

Suzan Verstappen
tel 0161 275 5663
email suzanne.verstappen@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Neuroscience and Experimental Psychology

Ellen Poliakoff
tel 0161 275 7333
email ellen.poliakoff@manchester.ac.uk

Ira Leroi
tel 0161 306 7947
email iracema.leroi@manchester.ac.uk

Rebecca Elliott
tel 0161 275 7433
email rebecca.elliott@manchester.ac.uk

School of Medical Sciences

Director of Social Responsibility for SMS

Natalie Gardiner
tel 0161 275 5768
email natalie.gardiner@manchester.ac.uk

Divisional SR leads

Division of Cardiovascular Sciences

Ahsraf Kitmotto
tel 0161 306 4186
email ashraf.kitmitto@manchester.ac.uk 

Division of Dentistry

Senathirajah Ariyaratnam
tel 0161 275 6818
email senathirajah.ariyaratnam@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Developmental Biology and Medicine

Michelle Desforges
tel 0161 701 6962
email michelle.desforges@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Diabetes, Endocrinology and Gastroenterology

Natalie Gardiner
tel 0161 275 5768
email natalie.gardiner@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Medical Education (including CHSTM)

Stephanie Snow
tel 0161 275 0560
email stephanie.snow@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Molecular and Clinical Cancer Sciences

Suzanne Johnson
tel 0161 446 3234
email suzanne.johnson@manchester.ac.uk

School of Medical Sciences

Director of Social Responsibility for SHS

David Allison
tel 0161 275 2359
email david.allison@manchester.ac.uk

Divisional SR leads

Division of Human Communication, Development and Hearing - SR lead to be confirmed

Division of Informatics, Imaging and Data Sciences

Lamiece Hassan
tel 0161 275 1160
email lamiece.hassan@manchester.ac.uk 

Division of Nursing, Midwifery and Social Work - SR lead to be confirmed

Division of Pharmacy and Optometry

Sally Freeman
tel 0161 275 2366
email sally.freeman@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Population Health, Health Services Research and Primary Care

Roger Harrison
tel 0161 275 5201
email roger.harrison@manchester.ac.uk

Division of Psychology and Mental Health

Sandra Bucci
tel 0161 306 0422
email sandra.bucci@manchester.ac.uk