Search the Staffnet siteSearch StaffNet
Search type

Bank holidays and closure days

BH

The University closes for 4 days over the Christmas period and all staff are given this time off with pay in addition to normal annual leave. The closure days vary each year. All staff are also given paid time off on the 8 bank holidays in addition to normal annual leave. For Support Staff who are required to work on either a closure day or a bank holiday, the pay/time off in lieu arrangements are set out in the Terms & Conditions of Employment.

The entitlement to both Bank Holidays and closure days is pro rata to your contracted hours, irrespective of which days of the week you work, (e.g.) if you work 50% of the full-time hours, you will be entitled to 50% of the bank holidays and closure days. Please see the annual leave section to find out how to calculate this.

2019

Good Friday, Bank Holiday Friday, 19 April 2019
Easter Monday, Bank Holiday  Monday, 22 April 2019
May Bank Holiday  Monday, 6 May 2019
Spring Bank Holiday Monday, 27 May 2019
Summer Bank Holiday Monday, 26 August 2019
Christmas Closure Day Tuesday, 24 December 2019
Christmas Day Wednesday, 25 December 2019
Boxing Day Thursday, 26 December 2019
Christmas Closure Day Friday 27 December 2019
Christmas Closure Day Monday, 30 December 2019
Christmas Closure Day Tuesday, 31 December 2019
New Year's Day Wednesday, 1 January 2020