Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Menu
Search the Staffnet siteSearch StaffNet
Search type

Appeals, complaints, and discipline

General information

The area of appeals and complaints is overseen by the Division of Teaching, Learning and Student Development, and conduct and discipline of students is overseen by the Division of Campus Life. However there are synergies across the University in these areas of work.

Students should be advised to try to resolve appeals and complaints informally within their Department in the first instance. If students then wish to submit a formal academic appeal or complaint they should do so in writing to their Faculty Office on the appropriate form.

Upon completion of the formal stage, if a student remains dissatisfied with a Faculty’s decision, they may request a review by the Director of Teaching and Learning Support (or nominee).

Once students have been through the full process within the University they may be entitled to take their academic appeal, complaint, or conduct related matter to the Office of the Independent Adjudicator (OIA).

For further information on handling appeals, complaints, and discipline cases within FSE, use the menu links on the left.

Departmental contacts

It's important that our list of Departmental contacts is up to date as we use this to notify Departments of new appeals and complaints, and also to distribute Faculty responses to Departments for record-keeping. We distribute the list at least twice per year to check for updates.

Please email fseappealsandcomplaints@manchester.ac.uk if you want to check the current names on our list for your Department.

Key contacts

Formal academic appeals and student complaints should be submitted to: fseappealsandcomplaints@manchester.ac.uk

Referrals for academic and non-academic Faculty level Summary Disciplinary Panels (SDPs) should be submitted to: fseconductanddiscipline@manchester.ac.uk

Within the Faculty office and TLSD:

Name Tel Email Role
Adrian Hoffman 68990 adrian.hoffman@manchester.ac.uk Appeals, Complaints, and Discipline Officer (FSE)
Kathy Morgan 68990 kathy.morgan@manchester.ac.uk Acting Appeals, Complaints, and Discipline Officer (FSE)
Sharaz Khan 68990 sharaz.khan@manchester.ac.uk Appeals, Complaints, and Discipline Coordinator (FSE)
Bukola Sontan 68990 bukola.sontan@manchester.ac.uk Appeals, Complaints, and Discipline Administator (FSE)
Kevin Hewitt 52200 kevin.hewitt@manchester.ac.uk Teaching and Learning Adviser: Appeals and Complaints (TLSD)
Fiona Hallard 58072 fiona.hallard@manchester.ac.uk Policy, Appeals, and Complaints Coordinator (TLSD)

For further information or advice on a specific situation or procedural matter please contact the Division of Teaching, Learning, and Student Development at appealsandcomplaints@manchester.ac.uk