Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Search the Staffnet siteSearch StaffNet


 The Centre for Higher Education Research, Innovation and Learning (CHERIL) is based in the Teaching and Learning Support Office (TLSO).

Our aims

The broad aims of the Centre are

  • To provide the University with advice on developments in teaching and learning.
  • To conduct original, rigorous educational research into pedagogy, policy and practice in higher education.
  • To encourage inquiry into practice in higher education teaching.
  • To engage with day to day academic teaching practice at the University.

Our activities

  • Administer grant funding and awards related to teaching excellence and innovation.
  • Facilitate a network of teaching excellence champions.
  • Promote teaching excellence at our events and conferences.
  • Publish on teaching excellence through a CHERIL internal journal (coming soon)
  • Develop master classes to support the development of teaching. 
  • Curate a library of teaching excellence resources. 

Board members

  • Professor Stephanie Marshall: Honorary Professor of Higher Education at the University of Manchester
  • Professor Clive Agnew: Vice President for Teaching, Learning and Students
  • Professor Kersti Börjars: Associate Vice President for Teaching, Learning and Students
  • Professor Richard Reece: Associate Vice President for Teaching, Learning and Students
  • Professor Cathy McCrohan: Director of the University College for Interdisciplinary Learning
  • Dr Steve Jones: Director of Postgraduate Research (SEED)
  • Dr Drew Whitworth: Director of Teaching and Learning (MIE/SEED)
  • Dr Lynne Bianchi: Director of SEERHI (FSE)
  • Katie Woolfenden: Head of Teaching, Learning and Students (the University of Manchester Library)
  • Louise Walmsley: Director of Teaching and Learning Support (TLSO)
  • Professor Pam Vallely: Academic Director, Distance Learning
  • Professor Judith Williams: Chair in Academic enhancement and Deputy Associate Dean (BMH) 
  • Professor Caroline Bowsher: Deputy Associate Dean (BMH)
  • Professor Danielle George: Faculty of Science and Engineering
  • Jonathan Winter: Head of Learning and Development
  • Patricia Clift-Martin: Teaching and Learning Manager (TLSO)
  • Olivia Meisl: Education Officer Students Union


If you would like to join our mailing list, please email with your name and email address.