Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Search the Staffnet siteSearch StaffNet
Search type
Purple graphic with text saying Awards

Teaching awards

A number of Teaching Awards are made annually to recognise and reward colleagues who have demonstrated a significant and sustained commitment to excellence in teaching and learning. Awards are  made by the Faculties, by the University and the Students Union as well as externally.

AdvanceHE fellowship

AdvanceHE fellowship is a formal, nationally recognised teaching qualification that enables you to demonstrate your commitment to teaching and learning excellence.

To support you in achieving AdvanceHE fellowship, the University’s Leadership in Education Awards Programme (LEAP) is accredited by Advance HE to award all four categories of fellowship – Associate Fellow, Fellow, Senior Fellow and Principal Fellow.

The University’s New Academics Programme (NAP) is also accredited to award Fellow of AdvanceHE.

Other external awards

The Pearson HE Innovate Awards

New to the sector in 2021, these awards recognise innovative approaches to teaching, learning and student support across 5 categories: 

  • Employability skills
  • Engaging students using education technology
  • Supporting students
  • Bringing inclusivity and sustainability into the classroom
  • Most impactful use of Pearson digital courseware and services

If you enter a submsission please let us know at

Times Higher Education (THE) Awards

Times Higher Education (THE) offer a number of awards including Most Innovative Teacher of the Year as well as other relevant areas such as leadership, collaboration, student support and Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Guardian Awards

The Guardian offer a number of awards including Teaching excellence, student experience, course and curriculum design, digital innovation and more.