Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Menu
Search the Staffnet siteSearch StaffNet
Search type

Undergraduate

For information on the University's Policies and Regulations for all Undergraduate Degree Programmes, please visit the Teaching and Learning Support Office [TLSO]

http://www.tlso.manchester.ac.uk/degree-regulations/

Meet the Undergraduate Teaching and Learning Team

Undergraduate Team

Generic email address: physics@manchester.ac.uk 

 

Emily Burns – Taught Programmes Officer

Email: emily.burns-2@manchester.ac.uk

Tel: 0161-275-6464

 

Karen Rogers – UG Administrator: Exams and Assessment

Email: karen.rogers@manchester.ac.uk 

Tel: 0161-275-4101

Karen is responsible for the administration of course unit and programme changes, MPhys projects, and supports the UG Manager with exams and assessment.

Working days are Monday - Tuesday and Thursday - Friday

Jonathan Martin – UG Administrator: Programme Support/Timetabling 

Email: jonathan.martin@manchester.ac.uk

Tel: 0161-275-4083

Jonathan is responsible for room bookings, tutorial sheets, BSc dissertations, summer placements and teaching assistants, and supports the UG Manager with timetabling.

Seena Patel - Teaching and Learning Administrator

Email:  physics@manchester.ac.uk

Teaching and Learning Academic Team

Head of Department

Prof. Stefan Soldner-Rembold

stefan.soldner-rembold@manchester.ac.uk

Discipline Head of Education

Prof. Rob Appleby

robert.appleby@manchester.ac.uk

Chief Examiner and Assessment Lead

Dr. Judith McGovern

judith.mcgovern@manchester.ac.uk

Year Tutors

 

 

First Year

Dr. Draga Pihler-Puzovic

draga.pihler-puzovic@manchester.ac.uk

Second Year

Prof. Albert Zijlstra

albert.zijlstra@manchester.ac.uk

Third Year

Prof. Justin Evans

justin.evans@manchester.ac.uk

Fourth Year

Dr. Patrick Weltevrede

patrick.weltevrede@manchester.ac.uk

Year Examiners

 

 

First Year

Dr. Darren Graham

darren.graham@manchester.ac.uk

Second Year

Dr. Ivan Vera Marun

ivan.veramarun@manchester.ac.uk

Third Year and Fourth Year

Dr. Judith McGovern

judith.mcgovern@manchester.ac.uk

Programme Directors

 

 

Physics

Prof. Mike Birse

mike.birse@manchester.ac.uk

Physics with Astrophysics

Dr. Patrick Weltevrede

patrick.weltevrede@manchester.ac.uk

Physics with Study in Europe

Dr. Alessandro Principi

alessandro.principi@manchester.ac.uk

Physics with Theoretical Physics

Dr. Mike Godfrey

michael.j.godfrey@manchester.ac.uk

Physics with Philosophy

Dr. Neal Jackson

neal.j.jackson@manchester.ac.uk

Mathematics and Physics

Dr. Judith McGovern

judith.mcgovern@manchester.ac.uk

Lab Tutors

 

 

Chair of Lab Committee

Dr. Neal Jackson

neal.jackson@manchester.ac.uk

First Year

Dr. Will Bertsche

william.bertsche@manchester.ac.uk

Second Year

Dr. Paul Walmsley

paul.walmsley@manchester.ac.uk

Third Year

Dr. Michael Keith

michael.keith@manchester.ac.uk

Fourth Year

Dr. Patrick Weltevrede

patrick.weltevrede@manchester.ac.uk

Other Key Roles

 

 

Academic Exchange Advisor

Dr. Alexander Oh

alexander.oh@manchester.ac.uk

Appeals/Complaints/Discipline Lead

Prof. Richard Battye

richard.battye@manchester.ac.uk

PASS Co-ordinator

Dr. Alessandro Principi

alessandro.principi@manchester.ac.uk

Employability lead

Prof. Scott Kay

scott.kay@manchester.ac.uk

Chair of Student Reps.

Jamie Gooding

james.gooding-2@student.manchester.ac.uk

Equality/Diversity/Inclusion

Dr Ahsan Nazir

ahsan.nazir@manchester.ac.uk

Teaching and Learning Committee Minutes

‌‌What is the Teaching and Learning Committee?

The aim of the Teaching and Learning Committee is to oversee and provide leadership in all aspects of the undergraduate (UGT) and postgraduate taught (PGT) programme provision in the school. The meetings take place at 3 points in the year (October, February and May).

Student Representatives from all years are encouraged to attend these meetings and play an active role in representing the student body. 

 

Minutes of previous meetings.