Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Search the Staffnet siteSearch StaffNet
Search type

Athena SWAN Applications at The University of Manchester

The University has held the Athena SWAN Bronze Award for over ten years demonstrating a continued commitment to equality of opportunity for all. Initially achieved in 2008, this was renewed in 2011, 2014 and 2018.

The Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team work alongside the ED&I team to address the actions identified in the application.

Read our latest application - April 2018 (Silver application, Bronze awarded):

The University currently has three Faculties - Faculty of Biology, Medicine and Health (FBMH), Faculty of Humanities (FHUM) and Faculty of Science and Engineering (FSE). Current awards and links to applications are below.

Please note the Faculty of Science and Engineering underwent a restructure in 2019 to create two Schools from the previous 9-School structure. Each of the previous Schools have now become Departments and their Athena SWAN Awards remain valid.


Athena SWAN Bronze and Silver Departmental Award logos

Alliance Manchester Business School

School of Computer Science

School of Earth and Environmental Sciences

School of Environment, Education and Development

School of Law

School of Mathematics

School of Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering

School of Social Sciences

School of Chemical Engineering and Analytical Science‌ 


School of Biological Sciences

School of Chemistry

School of Health Sciences

School of Materials

School of Medical Sciences

School of Physics and Astronomy