Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Search the University of Manchester siteSearch Menu StaffNet
Search type

Faculty of Science and Engineering

Name: Faculty of Science and Engineering

Place in structure: The University |> Office of the Registrar, Secretary and Chief Operating Officer |> Faculty of Science and Engineering

Address: Room B1
Sackville St Building
University of Manchester
Sackville St
M13 9PL

Building 1 on campus map (opens in a new window)

Phone: 0161 306 9100

Fax: 0161 306 4008


Website: Faculty of Science and Engineering Website

Update these details

General information

The Faculty of Science and Engineering (FSE) is one of the three Faculties of the University of Manchester. Around 8300 students, 1200 academic staff, and 700 professional support staff belong to the Faculty.  It is organized around nine Schools; five Research Institutes, Foundation Studies and a Faculty Office.

The work and affairs of the Faculty is directed by the Vice-President & Dean, Professor Martin Schröder, supported in his role by the Vice-Deans for Teaching, Learning & Students, Research, Social Responsibility & Equality & Diversity alongside the Associate Deans for Internationalisation, Graduate Education and Business Engagement & Innovation, the Director of Faculty Operations and other senior members of the Faculty's Professional Support Services team. 

The academic structure of the faculty comprises the nine Schools (Chemical and Analytical Science; Chemistry; Computer Science; Earth & Environmental Sciences; Electrical & Electronic Engineering; Mechanical, Aerospace, and Civil Engineering; Materials; Mathematics; Physics & Astronomy), four Research Institutes (Dalton Nuclear Institute, Photon Science Institute, Aerospace Research Institute; Manchester Interdisciplinary Biocentre), and Foundation Studies.
Professional Support Services provides support for the academic mission of the Faculty through the provision of administrative, technical, research support, computing and other academic-related and non-academic activities.  Professional Support Services is organised around a Faculty Office (Director of Faculty Operations, Academic Services, Estates, Finance, Human Resources, Information Systems, Communications and Marketing) and support services in the nine Schools, four Research Institutes and Foundation Studies.