Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Menu
Search the Staffnet siteSearch StaffNet
Search type

Our online graduations

Due to COVID-19 and the current government guidelines around social gatherings, the decision has been made to postpone the physical July 2020 Graduation Ceremonies until December. However, our University would still like to acknowledge and celebrate those students who are graduating this summer. We will do this in a number of ways including online communications, virtual celebrations, and the distribution of physical award certificates through the post.

Your role

To host a virtual celebration locally in the week beginning 27 July. These events are intended to be celebratory and uplifting with an agreed blend of standard University provided content, with opportunity for discipline specific/local activity that recognises the achievements of students in the graduating cohort.

It is important to emphasise that these events are celebrations and not graduation ceremonies

Delivery of local celebrations

Celebrations may be delivered using some combination Zoom, YouTube and Facebook Live. Exact combination to be determined locally.

Celebrations should not be longer than an hour and should include;

  • A pre-recorded video featuring the President and Vice-Chancellor
  • Speech from the Head of School (or nominee)

Additional content suggestions:

  • Involve a notable alumni or recent graduation
  • Invite student representative or current student to speak
  • Deliver school specific awards

How to guide

Here’s all the information and support you need to host an online graduation:

Contact

Organisation Name Contact details
Student Admissions, Administration and Business Improvement Sarah Beer

sarah.beer@manchester.ac.uk

Media Services Trevor Byrne trevor.byrne@manchester.ac.uk
Student Communications and Marketing Sophie Wing sophie.wing@manchester.ac.uk
Student Admissions, Administration and Business Improvement Rita Feeley

rita.kenwright@manchester.ac.uk

DDAR Richard Screaton richard.screaton@manchester.ac.uk; adil.mohammed@manchester.ac.uk
Students' Union Lydia Green lydia.green@manchester.ac.uk
Faculty Communications - Humanities

Kate McNamee

Becky Allen

kate.mcnamee@manchester.ac.uk

Rebecca.allen@manchester.ac.uk
Faculty Communications – Science and Engineering

Rachel Hobson

Nick Parker

Rachel.hobson@manchester.ac.uk

Nicolas.Parker@manchester.ac.uk

Faculty Communications – Biology, Medicine and Health Ben Goldblum

Ben.Goldblum@manchester.ac.uk