Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Search the Staffnet siteSearch StaffNet
Search type

Types of unlawful discrimination

As of 1 October 2010 there are 9 distinct areas upon which discrimination is unlawful, referred to as the 'protected characteristics':

  • Age
  • Disability
  • Gender reassignment
  • Marriage and civil partnership
  • Pregnancy and maternity
  • Race
  • Religion or belief (including lack of belief and philosophical belief)
  • Sex
  • Sexual orientation

Please use the menu to the left to find out what is included under each of the categories.