Search the Staffnet siteSearch StaffNet
Search type

Website resources

Welcome to the dedicated resource area for ALC website contributors - a place where you can refer to web guidelines and view the most up-to-date analytics. Minutes from previous Web Committee Meetings will also be stored here, and we will add to and refine the frequently asked questions as the website develops.

Frequently asked questions

If you have any questions regarding Marketing, please download the SALC Marketing tool kit from the Resources page.

Questions (please scroll down for answers)

  1. Who looks after the website?
  2. Who is the Web Officer of my Subject Area/Division?
  3. How do the website and our social media activity affect student recruitment?
  4. I've spotted an error on the website; who can I contact to correct it?
  5. How can I add an event on the website?
  6. How can I publicise a piece of news/event/activity on the School and my Subject Area homepages?
  7. I'm an academic member of staff and not listed in the 'Our People' section of my Subject Area; who can I contact about this?
  8. I'm a PSS member of staff and not listed in the ‘Professional Support Staff' of the website. Who can I contact about this?
  9. How can I manage my Academic Profile in MyManchester?
  10. I've just published a new book/article etc; how can I add it on the website?
  11. How can I create a webpage for my new research project on the website?
  12. Are the latest UG/PG brochures on the website?
  13. I have an idea for a new webpage; who do I contact?
  14. What web content management system does the School use?
  15. I've been asked to take over the maintenance of a particular area of the School website. Is there any relevant training?
  16. Are there guidelines on 'Writing for the Web'?
  17. How fast does a piece of new web content appear on the website?
  18. I have just started a new academic-related blog; do you need to know about it?
  19. I have some images that might be useful for the webpages of my Subject Area/Division. Would you like copies?
  20. Where can I find the University's logo and image guidelines?
  21. What social media does the School use to engage with different audiences?
  22. Does my Subject Area have a Twitter account?

Answers

1. Who looks after the website? 

Each subject area/division has an academic Web Officer, who has an overall responsibility for the webpages of their subject area(s). You can find their contact details in the Web Contacts section below. 

Also, Dipika Mummery (dipika.mummery@manchester.ac.uk), SALC Web Content Editor, is available to work with Web Officers on maintaining their web pages. PSS colleagues maintain and update School-wide webpages. 

Mark Woolstencroft, SALC's Web Manager, has overall responsibility of the external-facing web communication of the School.

2. Who is the Web Officer of my Subject Area/Division?

Please see the Web Contacts section below.

3. How do the website and our social media activity affect student recruitment?

To our knowledge, there is no evidence that student choice is influenced directly by the user-friendliness, usefulness or attractiveness of a university's website and use of social media.

However, an informative, useful and user-friendly website and responsive and relevant social media usage can assist the University in telling its story, responding to prospective student needs, helping them make informed decisions and highlighting the different factors that do influence student choice.

4. I've spotted an error on the website; who can I contact to correct it?

Please contact your Subject Area Web Officer (see the Web Contacts section below). In most cases, they are able to make amendments to existing content; if not, they can escalate the issue.

5. How can I add an event on the website?

Please contact your Subject Area Web Officer (see the Web Contacts section below).

You can also get access to the Columba events system to add events directly; to do that, please contact Faculty Web Officer Warren Gates (warren.gates@manchester.ac.uk) and cc your Subject Area Web Officer.

6. How can I publicise a piece of news/event/activity on the School and my Subject Area homepages?

Please contact your Subject Area Web Officer (see the Web Contacts section below).

7. I'm an academic member of staff and not listed in the 'Our People' of my Subject Area; who can I contact about this?

Please contact your Subject Area Web Officer (see the Web Contacts section below).

8. I'm a PSS member of staff and not listed in the 'Professional Support Staff' section of the websiteWho can I contact about this? 

Please contact your line manager, who can request this to be added.

9. How can I manage my Academic Profile in MyManchester? 

Please see the Pure section on StaffNet.

10. I've just published a new book/article etc; how can I add it on the website?

You can add it on eScholar, which will then feed it into your personal profile. 

11. How can I create a webpage for my new research project on the website?

Please contact the SALC web content editor: Dipika Mummery (dipika.mummery@manchester.ac.uk).

12. Are the latest UG/PG brochures on the website?

13. I have an idea for a new webpage; who do I contact?

Please contact Mark Woolstencroft, who leads on web in SALC: M.Woolstencroft@manchester.ac.uk

14. What web content management system does the School use? 

T4 is the content management system used by the Faculty of Humanities to publish content to the web.

15. I've been asked to take over the maintenance of a particular area of the School website. Is there any relevant training?

Please contact the SALC web content editor: Dipika Mummery (dipika.mummery@manchester.ac.uk). See guidance on using T4.

16. Are there guidelines on 'Writing for the Web'?

Please see The University's Writing for the Web guidelines. More information can also be found on the Humanities Web Training web pages.

17. How fast does a piece of new web content appear on the website?

If the submitted content change meets all guidelines (technical, formatting, style and brand) then the Faculty Web Content Editor will approve this content within one working day. For more details, please see the Web Content Management Service Agreement.

See guidance on using T4.

18. I have just started a new academic-related blog; do you need to know about it?

Please contact the SALC Web Content Editor: Dipika Mummery (dipika.mummery@manchester.ac.uk).

19. I have some images that might be useful for the webpages of my Subject Area/Division. Would you like copies?

Please contact SALC's Marketing and Communications Manager: Anne-Marie.Nugnes@manchester.ac.uk and SALC Web Content Editor Dipika Mummery (dipika.mummery@manchester.ac.uk).

20. Where can I find the University's logo and image guidelines?

Please visit the Visual Identity section of the University's brand guidelines website. 

21. What social media does the School use to engage with different audiences?

The links to our social media channels are located at the foot of the SALC homepage and on the Social media page.

22. Does my Subject Area have a Twitter account?

Most likely; if so, it would be listed on Twitter here.

Guidelines

Please find below, links to the various guidelines designed to help maintain a consistently professional-looking and user-friendly website for the School of Arts, Languages and Cultures. Many of the School guidelines have been adopted from the University's central brand guidelines, which can also be referred to.

Governance

Staff profiles (Our people pages)

T4

Columba Events System

The University of Manchester Brand Guidelines

Web contacts

SALC Academic Web Officers 2017-18

Division / Subject AreaNameEmail
SALC

Mark Woolstencroft, Anne-Marie Nugnes

mark.woolstencroft@manchester.ac.uk

anne-marie.nugnes@manchester.ac.uk

Archaeology, Religions & Theology, Classics and Ancient History Division No divisional rep - see subject areas  
Art History, Drama and Music Division

Dr Kostas Arvanitis

kostas.arvanitis@manchester.ac.uk
American Studies, English Literature and Creative Writing Division

Dr Emily Rohrbach

emily.rohrbach@manchester.ac.uk
History Division

Dr Rachel Winchcombe

rachel.winchcombe@manchester.ac.uk

Language-Based Area Studies Division

Dr Christopher Payne (sem 1)

Dr Ignacio Aguilo (sem 2)

NB - no subject area reps

christopher.payne@manchester.ac.uk

ignacio.aguilo@manchester.ac.uk

Languages and Intercultural Studies Division

Dr Christopher Payne (sem 1)

Dr Ignacio Aguilo (sem 2)

NB - no subject area reps

christopher.payne@manchester.ac.uk

ignacio.aguilo@manchester.ac.uk

Linguistics and English Language Division Dr Lauren Fonteyn lauren.fonteyn@manchester.ac.uk
American Studies Dr Molly Geidel molly.geidel@manchester.ac.uk
Archaeology Dr Stuart Campbell stuart.campbell@manchester.ac.uk
Art History and Visual Studies Luke Uglow luke.uglow@manchester.ac.uk
Classics and Ancient History Dr Kate Cook kate.cook@manchester.ac.uk
Drama Dr Johannes Sjoberg johannes.sjoberg@manchester.ac.uk
English Literature Dr Emily Rohrbach emily.rohrbach@manchester.ac.uk
Centre for New Writing Honor Gavin honor.gavin@manchester.ac.uk
SALC Residence Abroad Team  
residenceabroad@manchester.ac.uk
French Studies

Dr Ignacio Aguilo

christopher.payne@manchester.ac.uk
German Studies

Dr Ignacio Aguilo

christopher.payne@manchester.ac.uk
Italian Studies

Dr Ignacio Aguilo

christopher.payne@manchester.ac.uk
Linguistics and English Language  Julio Villa-Garcia julio.villa-garcia@manchester.ac.uk
Music Dr Roddy Hawkins roddy.hawkins@manchester.ac.uk
Religions and Theology

Dr Andy Boakye

andrew.boakye@manchester.ac.uk
Translation and Intercultural Studies

Dr Ignacio Aguilo

christopher.payne@manchester.ac.uk
Graduate School Andy Fairhurst

andy.fairhurst@manchester.ac.uk

CIDRAL    
Martin Harris Centre

Anne-Marie Nugnes

Mark Woolstencroft

anne-marie.nugnes@manchester.ac.uk

mark.woolstencroft@manchester.ac.uk

University Language Centre 

Francesca Smith

Jamie Popplewell

francesca.Smith@manchester.ac.uk

jamie.popplewell@manchester.ac.uk

Confucius Institute Tabea Heckrodt  tabea.heckrodt@manchester.ac.uk
Humanitarian and Conflict Response Institute

Jenny Gradwell

jenny.gradwell@manchester.ac.uk
Institute for Cultural Practices Dr Kostas Arvanitis kostas.arvanitis@manchester.ac.uk
The John Rylands Research Institute

 

 
Manchester Histories Festival    
Manchester International Summer School

Hannah Garrett

hannah.garrett@manchester.ac.uk

SALC PSS Web Officers 2017-18

SALC main navigationNameEmailPhone
How to apply

Dipika Mummery
Amanda Mathews
Lynn Trillo
Rachel Corbishley
Andy Rigg

dipika.mummery@manchester.ac.uk
amanda.mathews@manchester.ac.uk
lynn.trillo@manchester.ac.uk
rachel.m.corbishley@manchester.ac.uk
andy.rigg@manchester.ac.uk 

x61928
x53602
x53268
x53559
x53144
Fees and funding Dipika Mummery
Amanda Mathews
Lynn Trillo
Andy Rigg
dipika.mummery@manchester.ac.uk
amanda.mathews@manchester.ac.uk
lynn.trillo@manchester.ac.uk
andy.rigg@manchester.ac.uk
x61928
x53602
x53268
x53144
Graduate School Dipika Mummery
Amanda Mathews
Rachel Corbishley
Andy Fairhurst
dipika.mummery@manchester.ac.uk 
amanda.mathews@manchester.ac.uk
rachel.m.corbishley@manchester.ac.uk
andy.fairhurst@manchester.ac.uk
x61928
x53602
x53559
x67126
School Research Dipika Mummery
Jonathan Starbrook
Abigail Saffer
dipika.mummery@manchester.ac.uk
jonathan.starbrook@manchester.ac.uk
abigail.saffer-2@manchester.ac.uk
x61928
x53003
x61253 
School People Dipika Mummery  dipika.mummery@manchester.ac.uk x61928 
About the School Dipika Mummery
Mark Woolstencroft

dipika.mummery@manchester.ac.uk 
mark.woolstencroft@manchester.ac.uk

x61928
x58319

Additional contacts

SALC External Relations Manager & Web Committee Chair Mark Woolstencroft mark.woolstencroft@manchester.ac.uk x58319
Graduate School Andy Fairhurst andy.fairhurst@manchester.ac.uk x61726
CIDRAL Tristan Burke tristan.burke@manchester.ac.uk  
Martin Harris Centre

Anne-Marie Nugnes

Mark Woolstencroft

anne-marie.nugnes@manchester.ac.uk

mark.woolstencroft@manchester.ac.uk

x58322

x58319

University Language Centre

Francesca Smith

Rachael Jordan

francesca.smith@manchester.ac.uk

rachael.jordan@manchester.ac.uk

x63392

x68997

Confucius Institute Tabea Heckrodt tabea.heckrodt@manchester.ac.uk x53178 
HCRI Jenny Gradwell jenny.gradwell@manchester.ac.uk x50245
Institute for Cultural Practices (ICP) Dr Kostas Arvanitis kostas.arvanitis@manchester.ac.uk x53018 
The John Rylands Research Institute     x61513
Manchester Histories Festival     x61982
Manchester International Summer School Hannah Garret hannah.garrett@manchester.ac.uk x53319
Faculty Web Officer Warren Gates warren.gates@manchester.ac.uk x61640
Faculty Web Content Editor Dipika Mummery dipika.mummery@manchester.ac.uk x61928