Search the University of Manchester siteSearch StaffNet
Search type

Athena SWAN Charter

Athena SWAN Charter

Athena SWAN at the University

The Athena SWAN Charter recognises and celebrates good practice towards the advancement of gender equality: representation, progression and success for all.

There are three levels of awards: 


                 Planning        Doing              Sustaining


The Athena SWAN Charter was established by the Equality Challenge Unit in 2005 to encourage and recognise commitment to advancing the careers of women in STEMM employment in higher education and research. 

In May 2015 the Charter was expanded to include non-STEMM Schools, professional and support staff, technical staff, and Trans staff and students. The Charter now also recognises work undertaken to address gender equality more broadly, and not just barriers to progression that affect women. 

All the awards work towards equality of opportunity and are committed to evidencing a real culture changes within the University and its individual Schools. Download the University's Athena SWAN Flyer to find out more: Athena SWAN Flyer

The University has been a member of the Charter since 2008 and currently holds a Bronze Award. There are four national Patrons of Athena SWAN: Professor Helen Beebee, Professor Sir Cary Cooper, Professor Dame Julia Higgins, and Professor Sir Paul Nurse. At the University of Manchester Professor Helen Beebee is a Samuel Hall Professor of Philosophy and Professor Sir Cary Cooper is the 50th Anniversary Professor of Organizational Psychology and Health. 

All of our 15 STEMM Schools hold Athena SWAN Awards (Eight Silver & Seven Bronze).

Click here to find out who holds awards and to read the applications  

Please use the navigation menu on the left to find out more about the Athena SWAN process and the resources available.

For further support please contact the University's Athena SWAN Coordinator, Sarah Mohammad-Qureshi or the Equality, Diversity & Inclusion Team